Please remember that all our coaches are volunteers and do their best. Be gentle! Volunteer coaches should be helped not criticised. If you’re not happy with your child’s opportunities, talk to the coach, offer to help at training, take a course or next year consider coaching yourself. Most coaches are only too happy to get assistance on cold winter nights on Dickson oval.

To ensure players and coaches learn the best practice in Australia we ask all coaches to play the Football Federation Australia (FFA) structure. No if’s, no buts. This way players and coaches will learn the roles of specific numbers as they develop through the grades and therefore understand the game better.

The formations the FFA recommend we play in each age group are as follows:

For more information or to have your questions answered please attend our coach forums, Capital Football coaching courses, FFA website or discuss with our Technical Facilitator.

Player and Coach Development

At the ages from 7 – 12 it is all about the ball and skill for individual player development. All players should expect equal game equal playing opportunities where practicable including:

  1. Players all get even game time, every game – players have all played the same fee to play so players should all get equal time to play.
  2. Players should rotate through all positions throughout a season – even if you have a superstar goalscorer or you end up losing as a result of player positional changes. Players can only develop in different positions if they are encouraged and challenged to play in a variety of positions often.
  3. The team’s coach is the only person who should be giving advice when a team plays. In fact the best coaches don’t give advice during the game – the advice is given in training and game day is for the players to enjoy without anyone yelling instructions.
  4. All teams follow FFA game and training models.

Related Documents

Head Coaches

Position Name Email
Head Coach – Premier/Junior League Girls (NPLG) Andrew Richards nplg (at)
Head Coach – Premier League Boys (CPLB) Vacant cplb (at)
Head Coach – U13 to U18 Girls and Open Vacant u13.18 (at)
Head Coach – U9 to U12 Girls and Open Mark Shrewsburry u9.12 (at)
Head Coach – Pee Wees to U8 Girls and Open Vacant pw.u8 (at)

Coach of The Year

Year Coach of The Year Year Coach of The Year
2020 David Collins 2019
2018 Rainer Reuss 2017 Kurt Petrunia
2015 Chris Tournier 2016 Gareth Prosser
2013 Peter Docherty 2014 Mick Eddleston
2011 Heather Fitt
Jason Thornton
2012 Peter Mazis
Marko Perinovic
2009 Paul Macor 2010 Damian Page
2007 Dean Mcnicoll 2008 Simon Aitchison
2005 Steve Perry 2006 Inpong Hanxomphou
2004 Mick Eddleston 2003 Mick Eddleston
Pat Caggiano
2002 Mick Blank 2001 Paul Wittingham
2000 Paul Wittingham 1999 George Kyrgios
1998 Chris Winslade 1997 Chris Tomkins
1996 Ray Redman 1995 Michael Mcbride
1993 Jock Lockhart 1994 Benny Vittorio
1991 Andrew Hallinan 1992 Neil Dadge
1990 Bob Dejanovic 1989 Brian Hughes
1988 Mark Tournier 1987 Non Dejanovic
1986 Salvatore Gambale 1985 John Hibberd
1984 Richard Macor 1983 John Hibberd
1982 Neil Sanderson 1981 Tom Stazic
Skip to content